Before World of Wordcraft

By Tim M. 

Prior to my enrollment in our class, I had never played an MMORPG.  I did, however, play a lot of console games.  Dating way, way back (at least for me it’s a long time ago), all the way to the times of GameGear and SNES, I’ve always loved playing sports, racing, fighting/shooting games, and even a select few RPG’s (I’m pretty sure Sonic, Zelda, and Mario installments are considered rpg but feel free to give me a verbal lashing if I’m wrong).  And although a lot of the games I played had very enjoyable single player modes, playing with or against my friends (and a large part with my brother) is the main source of my love for video games.

I never really bothered to think why this was true.  I mean, video games are fun, hanging out with your friends is fun, so I just took it at face value that playing video games with your friends would be doubly fun.  Once I read this blog topic (and played some FIFA) and started thinking about where video games fit into my life, I surprised even myself by realizing that the same qualities that are fostered through playing competitive team sports can be learned through playing video games competitively.  I learned to lose gracefully and become better by not making the same mistakes over and over.  I learned to compete, and not always by myself, but often with a teammate or teammates (2v2 FIFA or Madden) in the same way a sports team must compete together.

Though this is just a brief list of the things I learned from video games, I’ve realized that all the times my dad told me that video games were just fun and not useful he was wrong.  I was developing a very similar skill set playing video games with my friends that I did playing sports with my friends, which he supported to no end.  I think I’m going to have him download the podcasts of our class, maybe he can learn a thing or two.

1 thought on “Before World of Wordcraft”

  1. When you reflect back upon your parents’ perspective, it can be easy to cast it as right or wrong. They were raised in a world without all of the analog and digital stimulus to which you were subjected. Their perspectives were shaped in ways that you can’t possibly imagine — and the same holds true for you. Different perspectives are equally valid as it relates to the value they see in various forms of activity. Interesting themese developing in the entries.

Leave a Reply

