Playing Sports Games: From NBA Jam to Madden 08

Ever since I first got a Super Nintendo, I have been consistently playing video games. And in the beginning, I would just sit on the couch in the basement, where I had my systems set up on a big TV, and just play for hours on end, taking a break now and then for food.

My gaming experience began with the SNES classics of Ninja Turtles in Time IV, Mortal Kombat, and NBA Jam. It continued on through Goldeneye, Cruisin’ USA and Zelda on the N64, all of which still happen to be sick games. Nowadays, I don’t get to play nearly as much as I have in the past, but I still definitely play my fair share of games, such as FIFA 07, Madden 08 and Hitman:Blood Money on my 360.

But more than anything other genre of video games, I have always been a fan of a great sports game. I have played against my friends in every kind of sports game imaginable, and they never cease to create competition and excitement.

For example, I don’t believe that anything in the video game world is more exciting than hitting the winning jumpshot with Kobe in NBA Live with 2 seconds left on the clock, scoring a goal in the 90th minute of a FIFA game with Thierry Henry, or even batting down a pass in the endzone to seal the victory in Madden. I find sports games to be the most social of games, which is probably why someone like myself, who prefers to play against someone than against a computer, is such a fan of the genre.

That being said, I do enjoy playing sports games by myself as well and have probably played way, way too many seasons in the franchise mode of Madden. My great affection towards sports games is clearly because I enjoy both playing and watching sports in the real world so much, but even having played all different kinds of games, I still stick to my opinion that apart from the really great games of other genres (such as Halo or GTA), nothing tops a good sports game against a friend.

1 thought on “Playing Sports Games: From NBA Jam to Madden 08”

Leave a Reply

