My Gaming History

I’ve played video games for as long as I can remember. When I think back to a specific period of my life, I can usually remember a video game and system that I was playing at the time. Throughout elementary and middle school I had Sega Genesis, N64, and PS1, in that order. My favorite games on Sega Genesis were the Sonic the Hedgehog games, and Shaq Fu, a kung fu street fighter style game in which Shaquille O’Neal was the main character. When N64 rolled around I got into my first sports games, NFL Blitz and NBA Jam, which were completely unrealistic but equally as fun compared to sports games today. In NFL Blitz I would choose “Da Bomb” play every down, and would usually get a hail mary touchdown out of it. In NBA Jam, I would either play with the Utah Jazz, who had Karl Malone and John Stockton, or the Chiacago Bulls, who had Scottie Pippen and Horace Grant on the team.

In high school I got Gamecube, which I regretted the second Halo came out. I played it once at a friend’s house and went out and bought XBox Halo edition the same day. I’ve played basically only Halo, Halo 2, and the Madden series since then, with Halo 2 being my all-time favorite game. I used to play Halo 2 every weekday night once I got Xbox Live in 10th grade. After a bad day, I found nothing more relieving than to get home and kick some ___ on Live. I never really played it for the social aspect of the game, although it is without a doubt much more satisfying to beat real players on Live than computer bots in other shooter games.

I’ve always had a solid group of friends who were as hooked on Halo 2 as I was. I would always look forward to the Superbowl, not only for the obvious reasons, but also because every year at halftime, we would turn off the game, set up four TVs and four consoles, and play 8 vs. 8 Halo over the system link (yes, this means that I never saw Janet’s wardrobe malfunction). After a 9 month hiatus from Halo 2, during which my Xbox Live inexplicably stopped working, I got to start playing again last thanks to a friend on my floor who hooked up his Live last week.

-Toopac

1 thought on “My Gaming History”

Leave a Reply

