The Death Star

As I walk into the classroom, I quickly realize this isn’t Kansas anymore. Decked with an oval of whirring laptops, the classmates swivel in their ergonimically desgined office chairs. Taking my seat, I brought out my own laptop and sat down. Stationed on either side of the classroom were the professors. “Let us begin,” professor Clayton said as he touched a digital panel with the familiar smirk on his face. The blinds dropped, and the room was enveloped in darkness. But the darkness was fleeting, as monitors from all sides of the room lit up like the New York skyline. I felt like I was Luke Skywalker trapped in the death star.  I have been to a class with teachers who use power point presentations, but they are mere padowans in comparission to the technoligcal force of our professors. 

Disclaimer: Technology has always fascinated me. I do not claim to know everything that happens in that mystical classroom, but i will attempt to describe my favorite and most effective learning tools.

The most notable technological tidbit we use in the classroom are the laptops. Whenever someone alludes to soemthing that the rest of the class doesn’t understand, we have someone YouTube or Wiki the statement, and within moments professor Hall has it hooked up on the large screen. This ability seems insignificant, but it allows the students in the classroom to all “be on the same page.” The classroom acts as a cohesive unit, a team.

 Another aspect of class I  really enjoy as a theater major is the constant stimuli of changing mediums for learning. Never do the professors sit in front of a chalk board spitting the most mundane facts. There is always something to pique my interest. Interactive boards, movie clips, a literal entourage of technological brilliance.

The technology is “cool,” yes, but is it effective? I started to analyze this question this week in class. Was it all fun and games, a spectacle, or were kids actually learning? As i started to look around the class, i realized that everyone was engaged. To actively learn something, I beleive you must be engaged, or passionate about it. Everyone had a certain light in their eye, and i could tell we were all hooked in to the virtual network that is our class.

3 thoughts on “The Death Star”

  1. Engagement is a key, and you hit on one key point of collaboration — giving each person access to take the floor flattens the learning environment in such a way that we can all become both learners and teachers.

Leave a Reply

