The Search for Gold

I can rmember a long time ago when I was only a 7th grader, and i bought my first playsation. The game i wanted to buy was not in the store, so i picked up a game with a really hot chick on the front, and hoped it would be good. Some obvious reluctance shown across my father’s face as i threw the game up on the register to purchase. Nodding his head, we went home and my brother nad I embarked on a journey through the world of Lara Croft.

Beleive it or not, two years later i saw the same girl, posted on the movie theater’s entrance, sexily staring at me with e “behind the shouler” look. Angelina Jolie, bustily clad in the famous white tanktop and excessively short shorts, clutching on two her oversized pistols was the deliverer of this glance. Astonished that a vidoegame could become a good movie, I did what any seventh grader did when he wasnted to see a movie he didn’t know if he could see with just anyone, I found a date.  When i arrived, and awkwardly told my 7th grade buddies we were getting tickets for the Lara Croft: Tomb Raider movie, they were just as giddy as I was. (later I learned that this was because of the size of Miss Jolie’s breasts) Beyond the reasons of my friends, I went to explore the creation of the Lara Croft character into film.

I was shocked to see that the demographic of the movie. As I walked into the theatre, i was met with 40 and 50 year old men, eager to see the actress in a semi-nude scene. Grossed out, i took my seat and watched the film. The Cinemotography was almost comic-book like, with every scene like a new comic book adding to an overall series. I was not impressed. I too, was only amused by this scene the old men were there for. The characters were so shallow, so transparent, it was hard to beleive anything they did/said. Everything in the movie was spectacle, and the line as deep as a puddle.  Though entertained, I wish i had those 10 bucks back.

Matt Shelton

1 thought on “The Search for Gold”

Leave a Reply

