Dad, Where Do Babies Come From?

            That’s a strange question coming from a college student, but so is online sex in a game.  Yes, I have had the “birds and the bees” talk, I know what intercourse is; however, I don’t know how to define sex in an online narrative game.  Since sex can only happen through contact (key word here) between opposite sexual organs, I can conclude that it is impossible to have sex online.  Nobody has the ability to feel what their avatar feels.  But wait, there is such a thing as cybersex.  It is not really sex, but is a way to immolate having sex or imagining having sex.  Similar to “cybering”, one could, opon seeing the voluptuous figure of a woman avatar, imagine certain “things”.  Therefore, sex could exist in an online narrative game.  With this in mind, I thought about all the NPCs and avatars that I have come across in my online game play (which is sadly only LOTRO), and I would agree that there does not seem to be any sex, unlike in the non-online narrative game Grand Theft Auto San Andreas.       

 I think the reason lies in the difference between online narrative games and, what I am calling, offline narrative games.  When I play GTA, I imagine myself playing as another person.  Whereas, I imagine myself as my avatar when living in LOTRO’s narrative.  In other words, imagining myself doing something is much more realistic than thinking about someone else doing it.  Also, the online part of the narrative is the interaction between other players.  How does this have anything to do with sex, right?  Well, in real life would you want to have sex with someone you don’t know or with someone who could be a ninety-year-old lady?  Of course not, that’s really creepy!  You wouldn’t even want to pretend to have sex with someone like that.  Sadley, that is whay you could be doing if there was sex in online games.  Because the online narrative games are so realistic and players don’t know who they are interacting with, it is too weird to have any sex in an online narrative game. 

Culthir 

http://www.absolute-playstation.com

2 thoughts on “Dad, Where Do Babies Come From?”

Leave a Reply

