No Way, No How

By: Amir Aschner

I’m going to go ahead and assume most of my classmates are going to whine and complain in one way that online gaming has really affected their life this semester and maybe that is true. I’ll shoot it to you straight, though. It hasn’t been that bad. Gaming almost doesn’t affect my outside life at all. I am not a huge fan of the games we are involved in this semester. I don’t hate LOTRO nor NW2 (I actually like this one but I just don’t understand all the mechanics yet) but they are not my first choice of things to do in my free time. I do the work in them and get it out of the way but then I am done until the next assignment.

In terms of schoolwork, it is schoolwork so yeah there’s a small effect there. At first I was worried when I found out what would be our weekly assignment because I thought the games would take hours and hours of my time. Fortunately, there was no reason to worry. It is easy to spread out the time I am ‘working’ so my work in other classes doesn’t get interfered with and when I want to do something social I don’t have to hesitate. Schoolwork will always come before socializing but so far I haven’t had an issue because of my gaming. As for my athletic life, there is no chance I am going to miss a practice because I’m gaming. In middle and high school I gamed a lot more than I do now. I was actually very dedicated to whatever my current game was so it did affect a lot of aspects of my life. I definitely had less time to be involved in other aspects of life and y social life suffered for it. However, I noticed what the problem was and gave up hardcore gaming for when I came to college for exactly that reason. I want to do other things besides online gaming, while I am here and there’s no way gaming is going to get in my way (summer is a different issue, though).

Leave a Reply

