Ahh, The Irony…

By Justin G.

Throughout elementary, middle, and high school, my mom was almost constantly yelling at me for playing video games too much (and not having high enough grades).  Of course, I would always argue that this was not true, I barely got to play at all!  I have always been a console gamer more than computer, but would only find myself down in the basement actually playing games maybe twice or three times a week for about 2 or 3 hours.  That is probably why, compared to some of my more hardcore friends, I am a far inferior gamer (especially in CoD4 and other FPS’s).  But that’s beside the point.  It was always my mom’s belief that video games were the sole reason that I didn’t spend enough time actually doing school work or practicing the cello, even though it was completely untrue.

Here, though, I am actually doing well academically (or at least better than I ever have before).  The only homework I’m really behind on is, of course, my character in LOTRO.  So basically, I am up to date with my conventional homework, but behind on the homework I would normally enjoy the most.  Very odd.

So I guess that online gaming hasn’t really affected my life all that much.  I have still been practicing the cello, I’ve been doing my homework, been getting enough sleep… OK, forget that last part.  But it seems really strange to me that the homework I’m behind on is the homework I would’ve killed to have in high school.

Having said all this, I guess I should go try to get my character up to date…

Leave a Reply

