Interference

By: Lee Jones

When I play games, I play them for fun and as a distraction from the rest of my life, including schoolwork. This has been the mindset that I have had throughout my life, and this is the mindset that I entered this class with. Now, playing the games is a class assignment, and while my logical mind recognizes this fact, the unconcious part of my brain that schedules out my days still puts gaming under the title of “leisure activity.” When I plan out when to do homework, this unconcious part of me schedules homework for my other classes, such as Latin, before gameplay time. This is not to say that I don’t enjoy the games themselves, and this may in fact mean that I enjoy the games too much. I guess the correct way to term this is that my other obligations interfere with my gameplay time, rather than vice-versa.

Leave a Reply

