Do Work

“Oh man. I had to spend four hours last night studying for my chem test, and then I had a huge Spanish assignment.”

“I know what you mean. I had to kill like, fifty boars-“

“Wait, what?”

“Er, I said I studied for like, 50 boring hours last night.”

I felt guilty trying to explain to my friends trudging through the premed course path that while they were pouring over textbooks, I was playing an online game. I shouldn’t, but I do. I mean I know how tedious the games can get. The act of transcribing the experience to another student, however, doesn’t convey the same feeling.

In reality, playing online games for homework is just like any other piece of homework in that it’s required, you have to be on a certain pace, and you have to make connections back to your experiences later in class. Just like my friends who are “Mastering Chemistry” (a computer/online based system of chemistry lessons and homeworks), my success is dependent on my ability to use the game mechanics presented, have time to sit at my computer and work, and be able to connect to the internet. Without those three abilities, neither Mastering Chemistry nor LOTRO (or in this case, blog posts; sorry!) can be tackled promptly.  Granted, I would much rather play an online game like Lotro rather than memorize the steps of glycolysis. However, I know people who honestly feel the exact opposite.

And yeah, there are times I’ve played LOTRO rather than do something more enjoyable like a swim workout or play football with the guys in my house. But that’s just the way that homework works. Whether online gaming or online chemistry, it’s really not very different once you’ve experienced a quest that takes you 30 minutes of walking to find, 15 minutes of mashing the 1 and 2 keys, and a 10 minute trek back… only to lead to a similar quest as a follow-up.