Gaming’s not so bad

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been a “gamer”. Ever since I got that N64 for my 5th birthday, I’ve been enthralled by the video game, of any sort of genre. My friends and family have never minded my sometimes hardcore gaming; in fact, I’ve been able to convert a good many of them to my gaming ways (recently my dad beat Mass Effect 1 and 2, after days and days of struggles). I’m one of the vast majority of gamers, one who can effortlessly juggle a social life and academics, all while on a pretty demanding raid schedule. Unfortunately for us gamers, this balanced, moderate way of gaming usually occurs in the background while the common perception of the “gamer” shines in the spotlight; an image of an overweight, socially inept “video-game nerd” is what people seem to associate with the term gamer. Sure, there are those people, the kind you see during media coverage of Comic-Con, or at your own local comic or game conventions. But what people don’t do is judge these gamers beyond their physical appearance; sure, they may not be a perfect 10, or even smell nice, but they’re usually down to earth people who just happen to have a passion for something that’s not quite mainstream.

That’s why I don’t mind admitting I’m a gamer. Sure, it may not be the coolest thing to do, and the vacant looks when I try to explain myself sometimes do get on my nerves, but it’s part of who I am. My family and friends accept me for it, and I’m more than ok with it. Sometimes I wonder what I’d be like if I had never picked up that first game of Mario Kart, or downloaded that WoW trial, but in the end, it helped define me today and I definitely like who I am.

-Spencer Smith, aka Swagstache the Human Captain

Leave a Reply

