One Game to Rule Them All

Over my many years of experience with console gaming, I’ve noticed a trend in the way I play most games.  Below is a brief summary of what happens when a game that I have been waiting for for months is finally released:

1. I put aside all other things that I should be doing so that I can go out and buy the game when it is released.

2. I forget about every other game that I’ve ever purchased for a month or two while I focus exclusively on whatever game I’ve just bought.

3. After about a month I begin to tire of the so called “new game”, and begin the search all over again for the next addicting title.  Meanwhile, the game that I was so obsessed with fades into oblivion.

I thought that this trend would continue forever until I was introduced to what I now consider to be the greatest game franchise ever produced: Assassin’s Creed.  For those of you reading this post, if you have never played Assassin’s Creed, I pity you.  It will change your life.  I know most of you will understand where I’m coming from when I say that the plot lines of most adventure games on the market are anything but compelling. Not so with Assassin’s Creed.  It is nearly impossible to not get emotionally invested in the plot, because the game is just that realistic.  There’s nothing more satisfying than running through a near perfect reconstruction of renaissance-era Florence avenging the death of your family by locating and assassinating the man who had them hanged.  Interested yet? You should be, but in case you aren’t, I will leave you with this.  A glimpse of what the new Assassin’s Creed (coming in November) will look like, and perhaps the most badass game trailer ever released:

stumpy367

2 thoughts on “One Game to Rule Them All”

  1. I absolutely cannot wait for this game to come out. I think one reason the story line is so compelling is because of how personal it becomes. You aren’t running around killing these huge bosses that just randomly appear, you are fighting on a much smaller level, one that relates to family and the Assassin’s Creed.

Leave a Reply

