Billy Mitchell and Dolores Umbridge.

Once every so often a person or literary person will come along that absolutely gets under your skin. They have the ability to make the reader/watcher absurdly angry, without meeting the observer, or possibly being real! I believe these previous statements apply to both Billy Mitchell and Dolores Umbridge in my experience. While watching King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters, there where probably ten to fifteen times when I just wanted to punch Billy Mitchell. Understand I’m not an angry person normally, but the amount of pure disrespect and pride that was radiating from Billy’s attitude made me want to rage. I don’t believe I’ve ever met or observed a more arrogant person. However,I’m not sure what provoked me more, Billy’s complete lack of humility, or when most everyone in the movie tries extremely hard just to suck up to him. Fortunately, Billy’s personality was somewhat equaled out by Steve Wiebe.

Speaking of Steve Wiebe, my feelings toward him changed throughout the movie. I believe it went something like this (bear with me):

“Oh cool, a guy who is looking for a hobby since in he got laid off.”

“There’s no way he’s taking it this seriously.”

“WHAT? THEY DIDN’T TAKE HIS SCORE?”

“Ok, he’s ruining his family.”

“I hate Billy Mitchel so much I’m going to root for Steve Wiebe, if only to see Billy get taken down.”

I believe my like of Steve is proportionately inverse to my amicability towards Billy. However, after finishing the movie and letting my emotions settle down, I feel almost depressed for Steve Wiebe. I really think he could have been happier if he would have just let go of the Donkey Kong ambition and spent more time with his kids. Steve illustrates perfectly that success requires sacrifice. In this case he lost time with his children and wife. Hopefully after getting the high score he settled down and reordered his priorities.

I suppose one of the main things I’ve learned from this movie is never let gaming  grow to be so important that I disregard my family and friends. Billy Mitchell and Steve Wiebe really did give us a perfect difference between gaming and playing video games.

Leave a Reply

