Braid (the game, not the hair)

First off, you should know I am only kind of a gamer. “Kind of” meaning playing Lego LOTR with one of my little brothers and CoD with the other one. Zero experience with computer games.
So playing Braid was . . . different (and difficult).
I found the music and the artistic look of the entire game to be the biggest attraction, especially looking at the backgrounds of the different areas. And the music, well, I have a weakness for any decent soundtrack, so I really really enjoyed the music.
The game in itself was frustrating. While the format was similar to Mario Bros (the only game I’ve played that’s close), using the keyboard arrows and space bar to maneuver had me dying over and over and . . .
You get the picture.
The whole time-managing, time-bending, time-reversing thing was fascinating. Definitely made Braid unique and a lot more intriguing. I had difficulty on the first few puzzles using it though, so I can’t imagine how much more difficult they became further along in the game.
The storyline itself was a bit of a turn-off. I didn’t get that far, therefore I can’t really judge, but I found the writing itself to be cumbersome and overly dramatic. Not to mention the “life lessons” that the writer tried to push forward. Like a really long fortune cookie. Apparently there’s a crazy twist at the end, but for me, that’s no excuse for a heavy, uninteresting storyline.
End judgement: I personally may never play the game again, but for the avid computer gamer, it could be very enjoyable.

-JKH

1 thought on “Braid (the game, not the hair)”

  1. I completely agree with JKH about the storyline being overly dramatic and more of a turn-off. However, I think I would have liked it better if it weren’t my choice to read it. By this I mean that when in the clouds, it is up to the player to stop at each book and read the excerpt of the story line (which were often a bit long). Personally, I was never motivated to do so and therefore lost a huge part of the game by not reading. I wish they would implement the narrative a bit more forcefully or sporadically (maybe like they do in LOTRO instead) instead of in large chunks like that. That is just my own opinion though.
    -Emily Blake

Leave a Reply

