LOTRO: The Quests Go Ever On and On

Playing Lord of the Rings Online has been interesting. For me, I have zero experience playing that type of computer game, so a lot of it is just me fumbling around, not sure where to go or what to do. 
 
I have a lot of problems with that, actually. I can start quests, and that’s fine, but ask me to find out where to go? Man, I have problems enough getting around the city where I’ve lived for all of eight years, and you’re asking me to figure out a landscape with very few signs? Needless to say, it takes me twice as long to find a quest’s location/person than it does to finish it, despite the map and indicator icon thingies (yes, that’s a term).
 
I’d also prefer it if it was more interactive. I know that doesn’t really make sense, but I’d like to be able to do more, aside from click on different attacks (sorry, I’m one of the ones who prefers the shoot-em-up games). 
 
Aside from that, however, there is a lot I find fascinating and interesting about the game. As a long time Tolkien fan, getting to see the locations that I know from the books (and from the movies) laid out on a landscape I can explore for myself is, well, awesome. 
 
Unfortunately, there is a downside to being a Tolkien geek. Even as I explore the different areas and options, I can’t help but feel like it isn’t really the Lord of the Rings. The two don’t connect in my head.  Sure, the names are the same, and the land is made out to be Middle Earth, but it’s just not right. Can’t even put my finger on the why, but it doesn’t feel like Tolkien. And I kinda think that if Tolkien were able to see LOTRO, he’d be a bit aghast.
 
So, I guess the end result is that I can play the game, and I find it entertaining, but it will never be my favorite game. 

 -JKH

Leave a Reply

