Orange and Blue

So, Portal. A game that I have not played since high school.

Looking at both the first and second game, I am surprised at how fun it is. My remembered impressions of Portal came from how frustrating it was when I couldn’t figure out a puzzle, and how many times I would fall into the sludge and die.

Now, playing it again, the early puzzles are easy enough, but going deeper, I have found interesting, complicated puzzles, and find it really satisfying to discover the final solution. The most interesting part in playing last thursday was re-discovering the narrative, especially looking at Portal 2. The struggle to defeat GLaDOS and get free, all while solving puzzles . . . it combines puzzle with narrative in a distinctly unique way.

Also, when did this game get so hilarious? I had completely forgotten about how funny both Portal and Potal 2 are. The dry humor and sarcasm of the robots is priceless—I can’t wait to get through the rest of the game. Whoever wrote Portal 2 had a great sense of humor. The following is actually a quote: ¬†“When I said “deadly neurotoxin,” the “deadly” was in massive sarcasm quotes. I could take a bath in this stuff. Put it on cereal, rub it right into my eyes. Honestly, it’s not deadly at all… to *me*. You, on the other hand, are going to find its deadliness… a lot less funny.” Imagine that said in a toneless, strange robotic voice and there you have it.

I still have a lot to go through, and I can’t wait to see how the rest of it turns out.

-JKH

Leave a Reply

