A Time for Thanks

As our time for this course winds down and the countdown to thanksgiving continues, it seems like the appropriate time to discuss what I’m thankful for. Of course, I don’t just intend to talk about everything I appreciate, but rather what I’m thankful for in the world of gaming.

I’m thankful for Super Smash Brothers on Nintendo 64 and its timeless play, cutting down sleep in college kids for years. I’m thankful for NCAA Football’s Heisman mode, and the hours poured into turning yourself into a college football superstar. I’m thankful for Madden and NBA 2K, for always being there when a friend and I had nothing better to do.

I’m thankful for the time travel back to a gorgeous, medieval Italy in Assassin’s Creed, and for the travel into a hellacious futuristic warfare in Call of Duty. I’d also like the thank Call of Duty for allowing me to waste spend literally over a month of my life fooling around online, trying to master “quick scoping” and crazy trick shots.

I’m thankful for the millions and millions of dollars that go directly towards the production of games like Grand Theft Auto to create an unbelievable virtual world. I’m thankful for GTA’s cheat codes, allowing you to spawn a jet pack or military tank out of thin air. I’m also thankful for the geniuses that dedicate their lives to bringing a little joy in ours.

In gaming, what’s not to be thankful for? Isn’t the whole purpose of gaming to enjoy a break from the life’s daily hassles? This holiday season, do yourself a favor. Sit back, relax, and play a game.

-Matt R

One thought on “A Time for Thanks”

  1. This is absolutely great! I like the humorous approach to describing video games and the impact they’ve had on your life. Keep on playing!

Leave a Reply

