Braid: Memories and References

I’m not sure why, but although I have a fairly wide variety of game genres that I play, games such as Braid rarely make it into the rotation.  I played plenty of side-scoller and top down games when I was younger, but it’s unusual for me to play one anymore.  That is not to say that I dislike Braid however.  Quite the opposite, it struck me as different and intriguing right off the bat.  The first thing that struck me, however, was the feature to rewind or fast forward.  Obviously that would be one of the first things that any new player would notice in the game.  But this is a really specific feature that I love seeing in games- I think I get that from having played Life is Strange.  It’s a mystery story about a girl named Max who discovers she has the ability to rewind time and now has an opportunity to solve and stop a kidnapping.  It’s honestly one of the most emotionally charged games I’ve ever played and I was quite pleased to see such a similar gameplay mechanic show up in Braid.

Besides that, though, I’ve really enjoyed Braid‘s storytelling style so far.  It takes the archetypal Mario story and adds its own little time-bending puzzle twist. I also appreciate the many references the game makes, not only to other video games, such as Mario and Donkey Kong, but to other media and/or literature.  For example one level title, “There and Back Again,” references The Hobbit.  I suppose I just really enjoying seeing a self-aware game.

Overall, I’m enjoying the way Braid tells its story as well as the challenge it presents in its puzzles.

2 thoughts on “Braid: Memories and References”

  1. I also thought about Life is Strange when playing Braid- the two are mechanically similar in the rewind, except for the fact that one uses it for puzzles in a platform while the other uses it to represent rewinding a real-life scenario. In addition to both using the mechanic completing tasks (getting puzzle pieces or maneuvering social situations), both tie in the mechanic to the narrative. Despite this similarity, using the rewind mechanic feels very different in both games, since one is used to rewind real situations while the other feels more like rewinding a character to solve a puzzle.

  2. In regards to Braid’s storytelling, I was actually- at first- feeling like the story was somewhat cliché in manner. I mean, it was about a man rescuing a princess from a castle. How common is that as a plot! After discovering what the end was; however (I won’t reveal it for the sake of those who have not been told the ending) I became much more appreciative of the overall plot of the videogame. Essentially, I was appreciative towards the complexity of the plot, and the meaning that went behind it.

Leave a Reply

